How to Turn on Private Browsing in Firefox

Background

Dolapo is reading the online list of board members and sponsors of ABA. But she also has to be careful like Nasir. She browses on Firefox, but when she does, she goes on Private Browsing.

As you browse the web, browsers remember lots of information for you – like the sites you’ve visited. There may be times, however, when you don’t want people with access to your computer to see this information, such as when shopping for a present. Private Browsing allows you to browse the Internet without saving any information about which sites and pages you’ve visited.

Private Browsing also includes Tracking Protection in Private Browsing, which prevents companies from tracking your browsing history across multiple sites. To learn more about Private Browsing with Tracking Protection in Firefox, see Tracking Protection in Private Browsing.

We’ll show you how it works.

Important: Private Browsing doesn’t make you anonymous on the Internet. Your Internet service provider, employer, or the sites themselves can still track what pages you visit. Private Browsing also doesn’t protect you from keyloggers or spyware that may be installed on your computer.

How do I open a new Private Window?

  1. Open the browser.
  2. Screenshot from 2016-10-07 16:27:46
     On the top right hand corner, you should see the and Mozilla Firefox menu icon.Click on the menu icon  New Fx Menu  and the Mozilla Firefox menu should appear right below the icon.
  3.  In the menu, click on the ‘New Private Window’ tab. Iits just right above the ‘History’ icon(the icon which has a clock). A new window should appear.

    Use Ctrl+ Shift+P for a keyboard shortcut would directly open a Private Browsing window.

     

    Screenshot from 2016-10-07 16:13:32
  4. Start browsing in Private Mode
    Screenshot from 2016-10-07 16:16:26
  5. You could also open the Private Browsing mode by right-clicking a link and then clicking on Open Link in New Private Window.
    Screenshot from 2016-10-07 16:15:03

    Now, you’ll be wondering, what does Private Browsing protect me from or what does it not save.

    They are:

    Visited pages: No pages will be added to the list of sites in the History menu, the Library window’s history list, or the Awesome Bar address list.

  • Form and Search Bar entries: Nothing you enter into text boxes on web pages or the Search bar will be saved for Form auto-complete.
  • Passwords: No new passwords will be saved.
  • Download List entries: No files you download will be listed in the Downloads Window after you exit Private Browsing mode.
  • Cookies: Cookies store information about websites you visit such as site preferences, login status, and data used by plugins like Adobe Flash. Cookies can also be used by third parties to track you across websites. 
  • Cached Web Content and Offline Web Content and User Data: No temporary Internet files (cached files) or files that websites save for offline use will be saved.